discmor.blogg.se

Windows 10 how to select multiple files
Windows 10 how to select multiple files




It’s like a carpenter’s toolbox - while most of the time you want to use hammer X, there are times when hammer Y or Z does the job better. And if I multiselect and choose Edit, the files all open in Microsoft Paint! (see below for changing that setting, which ended up solving my problem). If I select one file, I get the Open option AND the Open With option, which lists SnagIt Editor as one of the alternatives. If I select multiple files and right-click, I only get the Open option, which opens them all in PSP. In my case, I’m trying to open multiple JPGs in SnagIt Editor from Windows Explorer, not the default file association I have set for image files, which is PaintShop Pro. One of the forums suggested adding a Send To shortcut for the alternate program - I tried that, but it still only opened one file at a time, not multiple files, so I was no better off. Short of downloading another program, it seems that you’re stuck with this limitation. And this change has annoyed quite a few people, if the comments on various Microsoft and other forums is anything to go by.

windows 10 how to select multiple files

No, it’s not just me - Windows 7 HAS changed. This annoyed me so much today that I went hunting to find out if it was just me or if something has changed in Windows 7 functionality. In Windows XP, I got both options whether I’d selected one file or multiple files, and I used Open With quite often as sometimes a different program does the task you want to do better than the default program. If I select a single file, I get both the Open and Open With options listed on the right-click shortcut menu. Below is an example of this feature enabled in Windows Explorer and a few of the check boxes checked.īonus Tip: You can also press and hold the Ctrl key to select multiple files, without having to use checkboxes.For some time now, I’ve noticed that if I select multiple files in Windows Explorer (or whatever it’s called now in Windows 7), then right-click on them, I can select Open to open them with the default program set for that file type, but Open With is not listed. Once this option has been enabled, in Windows Explorer you'll have the option to check each file or folder by moving your mouse to the left of the name and selecting the check box.

  • Click Apply and then Ok to save the change.
  • In the View tab, scroll down and check the "Use check boxes to select items" option, as shown in the below picture.
  • In Windows Explorer click Tools and then Folder Options.
  • Open Windows Explorer by pressing the Windows Key + E.
  • Follow the below steps to enable this feature on your computer.

    windows 10 how to select multiple files

    This can make it easier and faster to select, copy, cut, and delete multiple files. Microsoft Windows allows users to have checkboxes next to each of the files in Windows Explorer. Use check boxes to select multiple files in Windows






    Windows 10 how to select multiple files